The subsequent post

Wow. I have to say I’m quite surprised at the level of debate going on at the comments page. So this being the subsequent post, I racked my brains about what more should I write. Should I continue in the vein of Theology vs Science debate? Should I bring an insightful, thoughtful conclusion to the discussion? Oh well, honestly, I think to each their own. So yeah, I shan’t claim to have the cornerstone on Truth with a capital T. So I have my opinions and take on things and I won’t apologise for them. 😀 It’s not like I need people to agree with me in order to validate my faith or beliefs, it’s just that it’s something quite close to my heart. And so I respond and react accordingly. Science and religion shouldn’t be anathema to one another. Both are in the pursuit of truth, are they not? One relates to the physical world, the other to the spiritual side. Just because something cannot be seen, quantifiable or empirically proven doesn’t make it less real, does it?

Rhetorical questions. I guess we’ll all find out when we see ourselves moving towards that dazzling light at the end of the tunnel towards the end of our lives. And there will be peace.

I was reading South of the Border, West of the Sun, a book by Haruki Murakami. He’s quite an author, I feel transported to another world in his book and his prose are simple yet poetic, his characters always kind of spooky, the world where they live in slightly unreal or surreal. And it’s always slightly bizarre, hence spooky. I guess that’s what you get for plumbing the depths of the human soul. It’s captivating.

Comments
5 Responses to “The subsequent post”
  1. They aren’t ALL rhetorical questions. ‘Just because something cannot be seen, quantifiable or empirically proven doesn’t make it less real, does it?’ isn’t. It is a statement with very debatable assumptions (i.e. God is real)

    I agree that to each his own. And I just don’t believe in God. I appreciate that you and Lorelai would worry that I’d not join you in heaven. But then, if I believe, then there’d be no one to accompany Marycherry in hell.

  2. shiuan says:

    oh, i always say, make nihilism your religion today!

    hurr hurr.

  3. Nick says:

    Hur hur, say goodbye to Mr Sun.

  4. Hmm, just like you just don’t believe in God, I just do. So there’s no love lost. 😉

  5. SM says:

    I love South of the Border, West of the Sun, meant so much more to me than his more famous Norwegian Wood.

Leave a Reply

